Aakash Chopra picks his all-time Mumbai Indians IPL XI

“The moment it lights up, that’s it, you’re out”: Aakash Chopra opines on the Zing Bails issue

AAKASH Chopra (pic Source: Twitter)

The introduction of T20 Cricket is possibly one of the biggest revolutionary things that has ever happened in Cricket. The T20 format has helped Cricket in truly becoming a World sport over the last decade.

The introduction of T20 Cricket also paved way for the franchise cricket as soon after winning the inaugural T20 World Cup BCCI came up with the idea of Indian Premier League. 12 years later, IPL stands as the best cricket league across the globe.

The 13th edition of the league was all set to be rolled out from 29th March, before the deadly pandemic postponed the tournament indefinitely. In the 12 seasons so far, Mumbai Indians leads the trophy cabinet with four title wins in all these years.

Since its inception, Mumbai Indians franchise has been the household of many big stars of International Cricket. In return, the franchise has also given team India some stars in the form of Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya.

Recently, Aakash Chopra, former Indian opener and commentator, picked his all-time Mumbai Indians IPL XI. Rohit Sharma has been given the reins of the XI for his outstanding record while captaining Mumbai Indians. Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai Indians in 104 matches, winning 60 of those with 4 title wins.

The legendary duo of Sachin Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya will open the innings for the franchise. Rohit Sharma will follow them at No. 3. Rohit Sharma is the leading run-scorer for the franchise with 3728 runs 143 matches.

Also Read – BCCI CEO comes out with an official statement on future of IPL 2020

Former MI wicket-keeper Ambati Rayudu will don the gloves along with all important No. 4 slot. Kieron Pollard, the MI giant, will slot in at No. 4. He is the second highest run-getter for Mumbai with 2755 runs in 148 matches at a blistering strike rate of 146.

Pollard will be followed by the Pandya’s brother, Hardik and Krunal, the finds of MI camp. Hardik has scored 1068 runs in 66 matches along with 42 wickets. On the other hand, Krunal has 891 runs in 55 matches along with 40 wickets to his name.

Harbhajan Singh is the lone spinner in the side. He was part of MI family for first 10 years. Famously known as Turbanator, he took 127 wickets in 136 matches for MI. In the pace department, Chopra has picked the lethal triplet of Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga and Zaheer Khan, who have picked 278 wickets among themselves for MI.

Aakash Chopra’s all-time Mumbai Indians’ XI:

Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya, Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ambati Rayudu (WK), Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Zaheer Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *