After seven years, S Sreesanth to play in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

After seven years, S Sreesanth to play in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

After seven years, S Sreesanth to play in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (Pic Source : Twitter)

After a long seven years ban, S Sreesanth is set to play cricket. In the age of 37 making a comeback is literally inspiring. He is included in the squad members for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and will play for Kerala Team. He was banned from cricket after registering his name in the involvement of spot fixing in the IPL-2013.

Earlier it was considered that he couldn’t make his place in the domestic tournament but finally he got a place to play for the state and can make a comeback.

Earlier he was used to do training with U-23 Kerala Team at Kerala Cricket Association in Ernakulam. In the released statement KCA stated that he found a place in the 26 man squad list.

With inclusion of S Sreesanth in the squad, Kerala Cricket Association announced the skipper of team as Sanju Samson whereas Sachin Baby is appointed as the vice captain of the Kerala Team.

There are more players who have been played prominently in various stages like Robin Uthappa, Vishnu Vinod, Basil Thampi, Jalaj Saxena and Mohammad Azheruddin whereas the debutant will be Sreeroop MP, Rojith KG, Midhun PK, Vathsal Govind Sharma.

Also Read – Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to be held from 10th January; Top players of IPL to participate in the tournament

The team will start their tournament with competing against Puducherry on 11th January 2021. Both the teams are placed in Elite Group E followed by Delhi, Haryana, Andhra, Mumbai. All the group stages of E will be played in Mumbai.

Kerala Squad

Sanju Samson(C), Sachin Baby(VC), Sreesanth, Robin Uthappa, Basil Thampi, Jalaj Saxena, Vishnu Vinod, Mohammad Azheruddin, Rahul P, Rohan Kunnumel, Salman Nizar, Nideesh MD, Asif KM, Akshay Chandran, Mithun S, Sijo Mon Joseph, Abhishek Moham, Vatsal Govind, Anand Joseph, Mithun PK, Akshay KC, Sreeroop.

Now let’s see how Samson is going to carry the Kerala squad with new genre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *