Friday, July 30, 2021
HomeCricket NewsBumrah and Pat Cummins fail to make cut in Aakash Chopra’s Current...

Bumrah and Pat Cummins fail to make cut in Aakash Chopra’s Current ODI XI


Now-a-days It has become a trend among cricket experts to announce their favourite XIs for the different formats of the game. After announcing all time Test and ODI XI comprising Indian and Pakistan greats recently, former Indian opener Aakash Chopra has now come up with an ODI XI of modern day greats.

Aakash Chopra, who is highly regarded for his views about Cricket, has included 4 players of India and 2 each of England and New Zealand along with one players each from Australia, Bangladesh and WI.
Surprising, no South African and Sri Lankan player has made the cut but it can also be attributed to their poor form in last couple of years especially. Afghanistan Players are also a noticeable absentee from the XI.

Aakash Chopra, in his XI, has chosen Hit –man Rohit Sharma and West Indies’ Mr. consistent Shai Hope as openers. According to Chopra, he also brooded over picking Aaron Finch but Shai Hope’s keeping skills nudged him ahead in the race.

At No.3, Chopra has picked none other than chase master Virat Kohli, who will be followed by veteran Kiwi batsman, Ross Taylor, who has been world class in last few years. Chopra backed his selection by saying, “We, in sub-continent, don’t realize this but Taylor has scored a lot of runs for the past two years.”

Also Read – Why didn’t RCB pick Dhoni in 2008 IPL auction?

At No. 5 comes in the Captain and World Cup champion, Eoin Morgan. “He has instilled a different brand of cricket in England. That is why I have made him the captain. I want him to make this side play a different brand of cricket,” said Chopra praising the Irish-man for his game.

Chopra has also picked two all-rounders in the form of Shakib Al Hasan and Ben Stokes at No.6 and 7. Both of them have been phenomenal in recent times with bat, although, the bowling has been a bit tacky at times. “Their bowling numbers haven’t been satisfactory which is why I feel they can support each other by delivering 10 overs for me,” Chopra said.

As far as the bowling department is concerned, Chopra gave yet another surprise by picking Mohammad Shami ahead of Jasprit Bumrah and Pat Cummins. Shami will pair up with Australian speedster Mitchell Starc and fiery pace machine Lockie Ferguson. Kuldeep Yadav is the lone spinner in the XI.

Aakash Chopra has also picked Pakistan captain Babar Azam as 12th man in his Squad.

Here is Aakash Chopra’s current ODI XI:

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope (WK), Virat Kohli, Ross Taylor, Eoin Morgan (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Lockie Ferguson, Babar Azam (12th man)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular