Reports: From December 20 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will start and Ranji Trophy schedule from 11th January

Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad to host Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21

Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad to host Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2020-21(Pic Source : Twitter)

Since South Africa tour of India was called off due to the outbreak of COVID, cricketing sport has been stopped to decrease the COVID scenario. It was called off from March 2020. From that day Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) is finding ways to solve out re initiate the sports again. Now with successful conduction of IPL took place and Indian Team tour of Australia is going successfully so that’s why BCCI is aiming towards to initiate the state tournaments for the upcoming domestic season.

To conduct a safe and healthy tournaments, BCCI had put some mandatory suggestions towards opening for state tournaments to their respective associations by installing four options, from which the first is for the only conduction of Ranji Trophy. The second option will be only conduction of Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy. The third option will be the combination of both the leagues together that is Ranji and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy respectively.

BCCI will create mandatory six highly bio-secured hubs for the conduction of domestic tournaments with 38 Teams respectively.

As per the three allotted options, BCCI also installs a fourth option which will be combination of Vijay Hazare, the one day tournament and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. With the reference of the lateral options, BCCI has also communicated about various apertures which includes a 67-day format for Ranji Trophy which will took place from 11th to 18th January. The T20 leagues of domestic level will be of 22 days which will take place from 20th December to 10th January, whereas the Vijay Hazare Trophy can be from 11th January to 7th February.

“Establishing a structure for a new competition during a pandemic has provided specific challenges for domestic cricket, most notably having the required medical personnel in place to handle stringent return to play protocols” stated in the letter, quoted by Times Now.

Also Read – Ravi Shastri, Virat Kohli communicated with Rohit Sharma by BCCI after the injury fiasco

BCCI had decided to create six highly secured bio hubs for the safe conduction of tournaments with 38 Teams.

“The 38 teams will be divided into 5 Elite groups and 1 Plate group. The Elite groups will consist of 6 teams each while the Plate group will have 8 teams,” quoted by Times Now.

As it is known that Indian Premier League is always conducted in the month of March to May but due to the outbreak the tournament was shifted to UAE for the safety concerns.

IPL2020 was then started from mid of September for which players started to practice from August and the tournament concluded on 10th November by the title holder Mumbai Indians. Currently, the Indian Team is at Australia for their anticipated series of ODIs, T20Is and Tests Matches respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *