ICC responds to overthrow controversy

ICC responds to overthrow controversy

Ben Stokes(pic source : twitter)

England won the ICC cricket world cup 2019, but a controversy happened for an overthrow. During the last over of the England inning, Martin Guptill through the ball towards the wicket-keeper, but balls touched to Ben Stokes and the overthrow went for a boundary after that umpire awarded six runs to the England team. After that, everyone started to troll ICC for this rule.

However, Stokes had not crossed with his batting partner Adil Rashid when Martin Guptill threw the ball.

MCC’s law 19.8, which deals with overthrows, says: “If the boundary results from an overthrow… runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded… and allowance for the boundary, and runs completed by batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

After that Umpire Simon Taufel sat that is was the “Error of judgment”. It can be five runs, not six runs.

“It’s a clear mistake. It’s an error of judgment. (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six,” Taufel, who is part of cricket’s law-making body, told Foxsports.com.au.

“In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen crossed at the instant of the throw,” Simon Taufel added.

Also Read – Amitabh Bachchan takes a dig on ICC after the world cup 2019 final

“Obviously, TV replays showed otherwise. The difficulty you (umpires) have is you’ve got to watch batsmen completing runs, then change focus and watch for the ball being picked up, and watch for the release (of the throw). You also have to watch where the batsmen are at that exact moment… it’s unfair on England, New Zealand and the umpires involved to say it decided the outcome, “he said.

After that, ICC responds to overthrow controversy.

“It was against the policy to comment on any decisions (made by the umpires). The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules, and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy,” the spokesperson was quoted as saying by foxsports.com.au.

So according to rule, it may be awarded five runs, not six runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *