MSK Prasad picks Indian T20I and Test squads for fielding two XIs on the same day

MSK Prasad picks Indian T20I and Test squads for fielding two XIs on the same day

MSK Prasad picks Indian T20I and Test squads for fielding two XIs on the same day (Pic Source: Twitter )

With eased lockdowns and decreasing cases of CoViD-19 Pandemic, Cricket is finally gearing up to blossom again at the World Stage. Some Countries like England and West Indies has already started the training of players in bio-secure environment, while some others like India, Australia and Bangladesh are contemplating the same by the end of June 2020.

International Cricket Council (ICC) and respective Cricket Boards have started to assess the conditions and their impact on the upcoming ICC events like the T20 World Cup and World Championship. At present, there are several question marks on the future of game- Will the tournaments be played behind the doors after the resumption? Will ICC postpone some FTP’s? Or dual team formula be rolled out to make up for the lost time?

With the demand of specialist in each format on continuous rise in last decade and so, the Cricket boards and fans have always been fascinated by the idea of fielding two XIs at a time. In modern time, most of the international teams even possess a core of 20+ specialist players in all formats of the game.

Recently, former chairman of selectors MSK Prasad, in an exclusive interview with ESPN Cricinfo, picked separate Indian XIs (with a reserve player) for T20s and Tests to field at the same time.

In T20 Squad, MSK Prasad has trusted some young IPL heros to come good at International arena. In the batting department KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Manish Pandey will form the batting core along with two all-rounders in Pandya brothers. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the pace attack and to support him are Deepak Chahar and Navdeep Saini. Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal will handle the spin-department. KL Rahul has been given the captaincy of the team.

Also Read – India is our first choice for IPL but if situation worsens we have to shift it abroad: Arun Dhumal

Here’s the T20I XII-

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini

On the other hand, the Test XI comprises seasoned campaigners of current Indian Test setup. Virat and his deputy Ajinkya Rahane will take charge of the team with all the regulars in Test setup. Surprisingly, Jasprit Bumrah has been picked in Test set-up ahead of his white-ball credentials.

Here’s the Test XII-

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami

In the history of Cricket, Australia has fielded two XIs in different series at same time. Back in 2017, Australia played a Test match against India in Pune and very next day they also hosted Sri Lanka for a T20I at the Adelaide Oval. In both the matches or rather series, Australia fielded different XIs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *