New Zealand announced their squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

New Zealand announced their squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

New Zealand cricket team (Pic Source : twitter)

Today, New Zealand cricket announced their squad for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka after ongoing test series. Kane Williamson and Trent Boult will be rested for this series. In the absence of Kane Williamson, Tim Southee will lead the New Zealand team.

“Kane and Trent played an enormous role in our recent World Cup campaign and with a big summer ahead, we see it as a good opportunity to give them a rest,” said selector Gavin Larsen.

“The series in Sri Lanka will be a challenging one against a team who are tough to beat in their own conditions. Following that amazing ride in the ODI World Cup, it’s exciting to begin setting our sights on another world event,” Larsen said.

“Our T20 team has been pretty consistent over the past couple of years, and we’re really happy with the power and versatility we have in this squad,” Gavin Larsen added.

Jimmy Neesham was not included in the team for the T20I series. Colin Munro, Martin Guptill and Colin De Grandhomme are the experienced players in the team.

New Zealand team reaches in the finals of world cup 2019 but lost against host England in the super Over clash. For this series, they will start the preparation for the T20I world cup that can happen next year.

New Zealand has lost the first test of two-match Test series against Sri Lanka. The second test of the series will begin on August 22.

New Zealand squad for Sri Lanka T20Is:-

Tim Southee (capt), Todd Astle, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor.

New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka (T20I series) schedule:-

1st T20I – September 01

2nd T20I – September 03

3rd T20I – September 06

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *