Ramiz Raja picks his Indo-Pak XI of contemporary players

Ramiz Raja picks his Indo-Pak XI of contemporary players

Ramiz Raja picks his Indo-Pak XI of contemporary players (Pic Source: Twitter)

Now-a-days It has become a trend among cricket experts to announce their favourite XIs for the different formats of the game. Many former and current stalwarts of the game have announced playing XIs that they have played with or against in their International Career.

Now, former Pakistan Captain Ramiz Raja, on Saturday, has announced combined ODI XI of Indo-Pak players, he played with or against. In his XI, Aakash has included 7 players of India and 4 of Pakistan.

Since the decade of 90’s, India and Pakistan is one of the most fascinating rivalries in International Cricket. The two teams have been powerhouse of Asian Cricket. Since the 90’s both teams have been boasted of a number of GOAT players like Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Inzamam-Ul-Haq among others.

Also Read – Ganguly hints at pay cuts for Centrally contracted players; in case IPL 2020 gets cancelled

Picking a XI out of these legends in one of the toughest ask, but Ramiz Raja was immensely helped by his son’s advice. In international Cricket, India have always been a batting heavy side contrary to Pakistan, who have produced bowling legend every now and then.

“I briefly discussed this with my son,” said Ramiz Raja on Facebook live video chat on Sony Ten Pit Stop with former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar. “It’s a massive situation to be in, how to assemble a star caste of some giants of the game.

“But he said no it’s very simple, you have Pakistan bowlers and Indian batsmen in the line-up and you get a fantastic India-Pakistan XI.”

Following his son’s advice, in his XI, Ramiz Raja has chosen Little master Sunil Gavaskar and Virendra Sehwag as openers. At No.3, Raja has picked none other than chase master Virat Kohli, who will be followed by his Idol Sachin Tendulkar at No. 4. Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni will handle the lower middle order along with wicket-keeping duties.

For the all-rounder’s slot, Raja has gone with World Cup winning captain Imran Khan, who will also lead the XI.

As far as the bowling department is concerned, Chopra has picked Pakistan trio of swing king Wasim Akram, the great Waqar Younis and Saqlain Mushtaq to round up the XI. Anil Kumble is the lone Indian in bowling department.

Here is Ramiz Raja’s ODI XI of Indo-Pak players:

Virender Sehwag, Sunil Gavaskar, Virat Kohli, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni, Imran Khan(c), Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Anil Kumble, Saqlain Mushtaq.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *