Sri lanka announced their squad for world cup 2019

Sri lanka announced their squad for world cup 2019

Sri lanka announced their squad for world cup 2019(pic source : twitter)

Today, Sri Lanka has announced their squad for world cup 2019. Yesterday, they have announced their captain for world cup Dimuth Karunrantne. It was a big surprise because as in last few series Lasith Malinga was leading the team.

In 2015 world cup, Angelo Mathews successfully led the team to quarter finals but lost to South Africa in quarter finals. Now this time they have announced best squad for world cup. Lasith Malinga is the most experienced player in squad. This world cup may happen to be last world cup of Lasith Malinga as he himself has said that he will announce his retirement after world cup 2019.

In all-rounder Sri lanka has included Thisara Perera. In last one year, he has performed very well. They have included batsmen like Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis  but big surprise came because they have not included Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal. In fast bowling they have added Suranga Lakmal and Isuru Udana. In spin bowling they have added Dananjaya de Silva but they have not included their important spinner Akila Dananjaya.

Sri Lanka has won world cup only once in 1996 by defeating England in finals. They have been runner up two times in 2007 and 2011. In 2007 they lost against Australia in finals and in 2011 they lost to India in finals.

But after 2015 world cup, their win percentage has been lowest comparative to other teams. After 2015 world cup they have played 84 ODIs and won only 23 matches with win percentage of 27.37. The highest win percentage in ODI is of India after 2015 world cup. India have played 86 matches and won 56 matches out of them with win percentage of 65.12.

Sri lanka squad for icc cricket world cup 2019:-

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Angelo mathews, Kusal perara, Lahiru thirmanne, Aviska Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Geffrey vandersay, Isuru Udana, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan pradeeep, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda siriwardana

1 thought on “Sri lanka announced their squad for world cup 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *