Starc & Root Opt Out Of VIVO IPL 2020; Maxwell & Finch Back In The Auction

Starc & Root Opt Out Of VIVO IPL 2020; Maxwell & Finch Back In The Auction

Starc & Root Opt Out Of VIVO IPL 2020; Maxwell & Finch Back In The Auction(Pic Source - Twitter)

Australian speedster Mitchell Starc has opted out of the VIVO IPL 2020 auction for the second consecutive year. He was also an absentee in the IPL 2019. Starc was picked by Kolkata Night Riders in the 2018 auction only to be side-lined by an injury.

Also Read – 971 Players Registered Themselves As IPL 2020 Gears Up For Bumper Auction

Another noticeable absentee will be England Test Captain Joe Root who has also opted out of the auction.

While, on the other hand, All-rounder Glenn Maxwell, Opener Chris Lynn and Australian limited over captain Aaron Finch are among the seven players who have set their base prices at 2Cr INR.

Australian bowlers Pat Cummins and Josh Hazelwood, South African great Dale Steyn, Sri Lankan all-rounder Angelo Mathews are the other overseas player with a base price of 2CR INR. In Indian Players Robin Uthappa has the highest base price of 2Cr INR.

Teams like Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab and Royal ChallengersBangalore can go full throatily for Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell as they need an explosive finisher to support their Indian Batting Cores.

Royal Challengers Bangalore, which has retained least no of players, and Kings XI Punjab will also try their best to get one or two international fast bowlers in their ranks to make a formidable unit.

The country-wise breakdown of 258 overseas players is listed below: 


Players Registered











New Zealand


South Africa


Sri Lanka




West Indies




The auction will be on 19th December in Kolkata, where all the 8 teams and their support staff along with the IPL working committee will meet for the bumper auction. Hugh Edmeades will once again be the auctioneer.

As many as 971 players will go under the hammer for 73 available slots in this auction. The franchises have given a dead line till 5:00 PM Monday on 09 December to submit the list of candidates they are supposed to bid for.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *