Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to be held from 10th January; Top players of IPL to participate in the tournament

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to be held from 10th January;

SuryaKumar Yadav(Pic Source : Twitter)

The year will kickstart with domestic tournament in India and the tournament is Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy which is also considered as a mini-IPL. It will commence from 10th January. The tournament will played behind the closed doors with all safety protocols.

The tournament is considered as mini-IPL as the tournament will just played before IPL which will create big enthusiasm in the players and even more many IPL Star players are also going to appear in this year domestic edition.

Also Read – Singer Guru Randhawa and Cricketer Suresh Raina arrested at Mumbai Club In a raid

Players like Dinesh Kartik (KKR), Suryakumar Yadav(MI), Suresh Raina(CSK), Robin Uthappa(RR), Shikhar Dhawan(DC), Ambati Rayudu(CSK), Sanju Samson(RR), Vijay Shankar(SRH), Ishant Sharma(DC), Nitish Rana(KKR), Ishan Kishan(MI), Shivam Dube(RCB), Tushar Deshpande(DC), Dhawal Kulkarni(MI), Jaydev Unadkat(RR), Saurabh Tiwary(MI), Riyan Parag(RR), Sarfaraz Khan(KXIP), Varun Aaron (RR) who played in the IPL are going to take place in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy also and which will ensure this as a mini tournament of India’s league also.

Grouping and Venue

The season will start from 10th of January to and conclude on 31st January with six venues on the list that is Vadodara, Indore, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore and Mumbai and all the matches will be played behind the closed doors.

 Groups of respective teams

Elite-A: Venue- Bangalore

Teams- Karnataka, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir

Elite-B: Venue- Kolkata

Teams- Jharkhand, Tamil Nadu, Bengal, Odisha, Hyderabad, Assam

Elite-C: Venue: Vadodara

Teams- Gujarat, Maharashtra, Chattisgarh, Baroda, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh

Elite-D: Venue- Indore

Teams- Saurashtra, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Services, Madhya Pradesh, Goa

Elite-E:Venue- Mumbai

Teams- Mumbai, Kerala, Puducherry, Andhra, Haryana


Teams- Chandigarh, Meghalaya, Bihar, Nagaland, Mizoram, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim

Suresh Raina will going to play for Uttar Pradesh whereas MS Dhoni is not playing in the tournament.

In this year both the players has been retired from international cricket. But Suresh Raina is going to feature in the domestic tournament for Uttar Pradesh and will lead the team whereas MS Dhoni wont play the tournament and will stick on the retirement from all forms of the game.

Chances of Sreesanth and Yuvraj Singh in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

It is said that Yuvraj wants to come out of the retirement decision and want to feature in the domestic tournament as he also seen in playing Global T20 League also in Canada. He might be there in the Punjab squad whereas Sreesanth is now out of seven year ban and can be added in the Kerala team squad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *