Wisden announces IPL XI of the decade

Wisden announces IPL XI of the decade

Rohit Sharma (Pic Source:IPLT20)

The year 2019 is about to end and with the year 2019 we also go past a decade that was filled with lots of drama, changes, emergence of certain forms of game and then taking precedence over all other forms. We witnessed the unexpected rise of T20 cricket in this decade, the origin of various T20 cricketing leagues the world over.

With the year 2019 World’s greatest Cricket League-Indian Premier League also completes its ten glorious years. With that, the Wisden has announced Men’s ODI Team Of The Decade.

The Wisden XI has two players from Royal Challengers Bangalore, three players from Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings each and one each from Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Also Read – Sourav Ganguly picked his fantasy IPL XI

Wisden has followed the standard IPL team combination, team includes 7 seven Indian cricketers along with 4 overseas players.

Team combination:

The right and left hand pair of Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma will form the opening pair of the wisdom team. The former Royal Challengers Bangalore opener, Chris Gayle who is the highest T20 run scorer in the world is well known for his big hitting and he also owns the record of maximum runs in an innings when hescored a breathtaking 175* off 66 balls, which is still the highest individual score in T20 cricket.

His partner Rohit Sharma has been one of the highest run getters in the history of the tournament and most successful captain of the league also. He will also lead the wisdom XI.

At number 3, Chennai super kings’ Suresh Raina gets a place. He has been phenomenal for the franchise at no. 3 positon and is still the second-highest run-scorer in the tournament’s history with 5368 runs in 193 matches.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli, comes in at no.4 for his staggering average and consistency.  He is the man with highest runs in the history of the tournament, with 5412 in 177 games at a strike-rate of 131.61.

At number 5, In walks another RCB-ian AB de Villiers, one of the most dangerous batsman of the game and a complete 360 player who have every shot in his dictionary. He has scored 4395 runs in 142 innings at an incredible strike rate of 151.

MS Dhoni, the poster boy of the IPL and master finisher, takes the wicket-keeping gloves. He has 4432 runs to his name at an average of 42.2.

Spin bowling slot is again taken duo of Ravindra Jadeja and Sunil Narine. While Jadeja has 1927 runs and 108 wickets to his name.  Sunil Narine has 122 wickets in his name.

Mumbai Indians Duo of Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah will make the pace attack along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Bhuvneshwar has scalped 133 wickets in 117 matches. Lasith Malinga has 177 scalps to his name while Bumrah has picked up 82 wickets in 77 games.

Wisden’s IPL Team Of The Decade:

Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma(c), Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *