Wednesday, April 21, 2021
HomeIPLAB de Villiers picks his all-time best IPL XI

AB de Villiers picks his all-time best IPL XI


Former South African cricketer AB de Villiers has named his unsurpassed XI in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The veteran began his IPL vocation for the Delhi Daredevils, presently Capitals, where Virender Sehwag was one of his colleagues. 

Aside from Sehwag, he went for Mumbai Indians’ (MI) Rohit Sharma as the subsequent opener. Under Rohit, MI have won upwards of five IPL titles.

“Last night I was thinking that if I pick my IPL XI and I include myself, how bad would that look. So, opening the batting, I would pick someone whom I started with at Delhi, Viru (Virender Sehwag) at 1 and someone who I think has played some of the best cricket in the world in the last five years, Rohit at No. 2,” quoted by Villiers as said by Cricbuzz.

For the middle order batting line up, he went for his RCB captain, Virat Kohli, at three. Indeed, even as he put himself for the fourth position, De Villiers kept Steve Smith and Kane Williamson in the brawl also. As the all-rounders, he went for Ravindra Jadeja and Ben Stokes. In spite of the fact that Rohit is the best IPL captain, the former Proteas went for MS Dhoni as the captain. 

Dhoni has guided the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to three IPL titles so far. As the quick bowlers, he went for Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kagiso Rabada. Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan is the sole expert spinner in his eleven.

“Then obviously Virat at No. 3, followed by I’d say either Williamson, or Smith, or myself… These are the two replacements. Ben Stokes at 5, MS at six as captain, and at No. 7, I’d put Jaddu, Mr. Jadeja. Rashid Khan at 8, Bhuvi at 9, Kagiso Rabada at 10, and Bumrah at 11,” 

Also Read – cheteshwar pujara hits sixes in the training session Ahead of IPL-2021

AB De Villiers didn’t suggest Suresh Raina, who’s the second-most elevated run-scorer throughout the entire existence of the IPL. He additionally left out the amazing Lasith Malinga, who is at present the most elevated wicket-taker in the title.

AB de Villiers IPL XI

Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson/Steve Smith/AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, MS Dhoni (C and WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular