Tuesday, October 19, 2021
HomeT20 World CupAnnouncement of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Announcement of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021


The International Cricket Council (ICC) today reported the grouping for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 to be facilitated by the BCCI in Oman and the United Arab Emirates from 17 October to 14 November.

The groups, chosen in the premise of group rankings starting at 20 March 2021, see reigning champs the West Indies pooled alongside previous heroes England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 going along with them.

Gathering 2 will include previous winners India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1.

Eight groups will challenge the first round including programmed qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the leftover six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, while Oman, PNG and Scotland will confront Bangladesh in Group B.

Also Read – SuryaKumar Yadav picks his favourite all time IPL-XI

We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great match ups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer. Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings which determine the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months.”Quoted by Geoff Allardice.

“With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup kickstarts. There is nothing that separates the two groups as both are packed with sides that are highly competitive in the shortest format of the game. Having said that, the exciting T20 format is known for its surprises, and we must be prepared for the same. I am sure we will witness some exciting and nail-biting games” said by Jay Shah.

“I am particularly delighted to be in Oman. As a major force in world cricket, the BCCI has always endeavoured to promote and assist Associate Nations. In my capacity as Asian Cricket Council President, my vision is to take cricket far and deep into Asia. Co-hosting the World Cup will put Oman Cricket on the global stage. They are also playing the Qualifiers and it will be an icing on the cake if they make it to the Super 12s.”added by him.

“It is good to get Oman in the frame of world cricket with the hosting of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It will help a lot of young players take an interest in the game. We know it will be a world class event in this part of the world.” Said by Sourav Ganguly.

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and OmanSuper 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, winner of Group-A and runner ups of Group-A.
Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, winner of Group-B and runner ups of Group-B.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular