Thursday, July 29, 2021
HomeSchedule & SquadAnnouncement of New Zealand Test and T20 squads for the upcoming West...

Announcement of New Zealand Test and T20 squads for the upcoming West Indies Series


As the cricket sports has arrived to its constant form and now all the international matches are going to be started from that while here New Zealand is going to take a clash against the West Indies Team from 27 November 2020. With this series New Zealand will kickstart their national side of game after this pandemic situation. The host has also given rest to the skipper Kane Williamson and the seamers spearhead Trent Boult for the upcoming T20 Series. Devon Conway the Wellington Firebirds batsman got the maiden call for the New Zealand side for the upcoming T20 series against the Team West Indies.

The New Zealand Board had announced the squad for the test and the T20 respectively.  With the selection of Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson has also got the maiden call for the T20 side. Jamieson had also got a chance in the test and the ODI team, earlier this year during the home series against Indian Team and he had also impressed everyone. Both Boult and Williamson had recently returned to New Zealand after a long IPL tournament held at UAE. There had to stay following the bio bubble method during the tournament. In the absence of Williamson, Tim Southee is going to lead the team. Therefore Jamieson, Ross Taylor and Southee are available only for the first 2 T20Is.

After the T20Is, this trio will head towards Hamilton for the Test squad for the test match held on November 30.  The remaining two T20Is to be held at Bay Oval on November 30 and the three trios is going to join that is Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn, and Mark Chapman.

New Zealand Cricket’s efforts are appreciated by Gary Stead

The given efforts shown by the Cricket board to resuming the cricket action was appreciated by their team Head coach Gary Stead. The New Zealand side hadn’t played a single match after they played one match out of the 3 match series against Australia in March which was held before the pandemic situation whereas West Indies went into the action in July playing against the World Cup winner England Team.

Also Read – Five Stadiums and Cities that might see a new team in IPL 2021

I think we are all aware and appreciative of how much work has gone in to make this home summer possible- in what is clearly unprecedented times” stated by Stead.

The season schedule is complex and for the first time we are going to have a BLACKCAPS Test squad assembling on the same day we are playing a T20 International in another city. We have got players at quite different stages with some having played almost a month of domestic cricket, some in managed isolation following the IPL and others batting injuries”, he stated.

The T20 Squad of New Zealand Team:

Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Lockie Ferguson, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Ish sodhi, Tim Seifert (wk), Mitchell Santner,Ross Taylor ( Scott Kuggeleijn, Doug Bracewell and Mark Chapman will be included in last two T20Is in place of Taylor, Southee and Jamieson.)

The Test Squad of New Zealand Team:

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme,  Tom Blundell, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholis, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will young, BJ Watling(wk).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular