Monday, December 5, 2022

Australia announced new list of contracted players


Besides announcing Australian squad for world cup 2019, cricket Australia also announced the new list of contracted players. The list includes Steve Smith and David Warner which were not included last year after being banned over the ball-tampering scandal in South Africa. Although, Bancroft, who was suspended over the same incident was left out. This is second good news for Steve Smith and David Warner in a single day after they are selected in world cup squad of Australia.

Mitchell Marsh, who was named Test vice-captain last year but has since not performed well has been left out. Other players who have been left out are Ashton Agar, Matthew Renshaw, Kane Richardson and Billy Stanlake. Joe Burns, Kurtis Patterson, Cameron Bancroft, Peter Siddle, and Marnus Labuschagne are also left out.

Fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile, who wasn’t on the list last year, made his name in the list. Fast bowler James Pattinson and opener Marcus Harris were also included in contract list.

Trevor Hohns, chairman of Australia’s selection committee, said “We believe the 2019-20 contract list provides us with a versatile group of players who can represent Australia across all three formats over the contract period, Our key criteria focused on selecting a pool of players who are going to help us in our ambition to win the upcoming World Cup and Ashes series in England, and who can also play the various formats over the course of the Australian summer.”

The list of 20 players has been selected on the basis of their performances over the past 12 months. The players have been selected for 2019-2020 season. The minimum value of a contract last season was Aus$286,000 (US$222,000). This year’s figure was not released.

Contracted list:

Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Alex Carey, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular