Friday, August 19, 2022

Bangladesh added two new players in their squad


Earlier, Bangladesh has announced their 15 member squad for World Cup 2019 to be held in England and Wales. Mashrafe Mortaza will be leading the side as captain while Shakib Al Hasan has been announced as vice-captain.

Bangladesh will begin their World Cup campaign against South Africa at the Kennington Oval on June 2. Before world cup Bangladesh will play tri-nation-series in-from 5 May to 17 May in Dublin, Ireland. Other two teams which are going to participate are West Indies and Ireland. They have also announced squad for tri-nation series but now they have made a little modification in that. Bangladesh has added two new players in the squad.

Taskin Ahmed, the fast bowler, and Farhad Reza, the seam bowling all rounder, were added to Bangladesh’s ODI squad for upcoming tri-series in Ireland. Taskin Ahmed, who hasn’t played an ODI since October 2017, was left out of the initial squad for the tournament due to injury. However, the selectors have now added both the players to the squad. Taskin and Reza are not part of Bangladesh squad for World Cup to be held in England next month.

Taskin, 25, has been recovering from an ankle injury, he got during a Bangladesh Premier League game. The pacer was advised three-week rest, alongside a rehabilitation programme. He made a comeback in the recently-concluded Dhaka Premier League.

Meanwhile, Reza made his last international appearance for Bangladesh in 2014.  He last played an ODI in December 2011. But was the highest wicket-taker in the Dhaka Premier League. He picked up 38 wickets from 16 games.

Masrafe Mortaza, the regular captain, will lead the side in the tri-series, which starts on 5 May.

Bangladesh Squad for tri series:

Masrafe Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Litton Das, Soumya Sarker, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmud Ullah, Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Mohammad Mithun, Shabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Shaifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed, Nayeem Hasan, Yasir Ali, Taskin Ahmed, Farhad Reza

Bangladesh Squad for cricket World Cup 2019:

Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan (vc), Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahaman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular