Tuesday, September 27, 2022

BBL introduces IPL-style strategic timeout


Cricket Australia will introduce the IPL-style strategic timeout in BBL 2019/20. Big Bash League 2019/20 will kick off from December 17. Earlier BBL introduced multiple super overs if the semi-finals and finals match will end in a tie. Cricket Australia always comes with new ideas throw Big Bash league. Last year they replaced coin toss with the bat flip. Now BBL will add IPL-style strategic timeout.

“We are always looking for ways to improve the competition for our fans, players and clubs,” Cricket Australia’s Head of Big Bash Leagues Alistair Dobson said on the changes to the playing conditions. “The super over has been a discussion point globally after the ICC Cricket World Cup Final. We are pleased to have landed on a solution that provides teams and fans with a more satisfying outcome to a finals match.

Also Read – BBL introduces a new rule, multiple super overs to be played in case of tied final

“The Strategic Time Out has been thought about and developed over the last couple of years, with input from key stakeholders in the game. We’ve seen the strategic time outs used in other T20 competitions around the world, and we feel that providing the batting team with the power to call a time out will add an extra tactical dimension to the outcome of the game, with the priority of maximising runs.”

The first match of Big Bash League 2019/20 will be played between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder on December 17. Brisbane Head signed South African player AB De Villiers for last league matches.

Big Bash League was the first platform where Lead stump was used. After that, everywhere in the world, Led stump has used everywhere.

Melbourne Renegades is the current Big Bash league champion. Melbourne Renegades won the BBL 2018/19 title by defeating Melbourne Stars in the finals.

 Currently, Women’s Big Bash League is in progress.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular