Thursday, December 2, 2021
HomeCricket NewsBCCI appointed Rahul Dravid as Team India’s new Head Coach

BCCI appointed Rahul Dravid as Team India’s new Head Coach


Recently the BCCI appointed Rahul Dravid as Team India’s new Head Coach because Ravi Shastri already said that he won’t continue after the T20 World Cup as coach. India’s team has already been knocked out from the T20 World Cup 2021 and Now they will play against New Zealand at home.

New Zealand will play 3 T20is and a test against India, starting from November 17.

Mr Sourav Ganguly, President, BCCI said, “The BCCI welcomes Rahul Dravid as the Head Coach of India’s senior men team. Rahul has had an illustrious playing career and is one of the greats of the game. He has also served Indian cricket as Head of National Cricket Academy (NCA) with distinction. Rahul’s effort at the NCA has nurtured several young cricketing talents who have gone on to represent the country at the international stage. I am hopeful that his new stint will take Indian cricket to new heights.”

Also Read – 3 Seamers whom CSK should target in the upcoming mega auction for IPL 2022

Mr Jay Shah, Honorary Secretary, BCCI said, “There is no better person than Rahul Dravid and I am delighted to see him being appointed as the Head Coach of the Indian Cricket Team. With two World Cups scheduled to take place in the next two years, it is important to have a seamless transition, and the former India captain is the right man for the job. Having provided the much-needed direction to NCA and overseen the progression of the boys at India U-19 and India A level, we believe this is also a natural progression for him as a coach. I have no doubt that under him, the Indian team will dominate in all formats. The Board will soon make appointments of other coaching staff, who will support the Head Coach in jointly achieving our targets.”

Mr Rahul Dravid, Head Coach, Team India said, “It is an absolute honour to be appointed as the new Head Coach of the Indian Cricket Team and I am really looking forward to this role. Under Mr Shastri, the team has done very well, and I hope to work with the team to take this forward.  Having worked closely with most of the boys either at NCA, U19 and India A setup, I know they have the passion and desire to improve every day. There are some marquee multi-team events in the next two years, and I look forward to working with the players and the support staff to achieve our potential.”

India’s T20I squad for New Zealand series : Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj

Day Date Match Venue
Wednesday 17th Nov 2021 1st T20I Jaipur
Friday 19th Nov 2021 2nd T20I Ranchi
Sunday 21st Nov 2021 3rd T20I Kolkata


India’s Test squad: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Virat Kohli will join the squad for the second Test and will lead the team.

Day Date Match Venue
Thursday 25th Nov 2021 1st Test Kanpur
Friday 3rd Dec 2021 2nd Test Mumbai


India ‘A’ squad for South Africa tour: Priyank Panchal (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Sarfaraz Khan, Baba Aparajith, Upendra Yadav (wicket-keeper), K Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Umran Malik, Ishan Porel, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Day Date Match Venue
Tue-Fri 23rd to 26th Nov 2021 1st Four-day Match Bloemfontein
Mon-Thu 29th Nov to 2nd Dec 2021 2nd Four-day Match Bloemfontein
Mon-Thu 6th to 9th Dec 2021 3rd Four-day Match Bloemfontein





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular