Thursday, October 6, 2022

BCCI recommends four cricketers for Arjuna Award


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday recommended the names of Indian men’s team cricketers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja and women’s team player Poonam Yadav for the Arjuna Award. The Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) met in New Delhi to discuss the matter in the presence of GM Cricket Operations Saba Karim. Saba Karim had proposed the names of the four cricketers.

Bumrah has been an integral part of the Indian cricket team in recent times and will be leading the bowling attack for the country at the 2019 World Cup to be held in England and Wales. Currently, Bumrah holds 1st position in ICC ODI rankings. He has played 49 ODIs and took 85 wickets in them. His economy is 4.51 and best is 5 for 27.

Mohammed Shami has also been in great form in recent times and made a remarkable comeback into the Indian limited-overs side after being considered only for the longer format in the last couple of seasons. Mohammed Shami is part of world cup squad of team India. He has experience of 63 ODIs and 40 tests. He has been part of team India from almost 5 years.

Ravindra Jadeja, who till recently was only part of the Indian Test side, has also made a return to the limited-overs team and has been picked as the third spinner in the 15-member squad for the World Cup 2019 in England and Wales. He is currently ranked at 6th position in ICC test ranking of bowlers. Jadeja has been part of team India for more than 10 years. He has huge experience of international cricket.

Poonam Yadav has been nominated from the women’s team and she deserves the award also. He is currently ranked at 10th position in points table in ICC ODIs ranking and 2nd position in T20s by ICC.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular