Thursday, September 16, 2021
HomeAshesCricket Australia announced their 17-member ashes squad

Cricket Australia announced their 17-member ashes squad


The Ashes will kick off from August 01. Today, Cricket Australia has announced their 17 member squad for the Ashes. David Warner, Steven Smith and Cameron Bancroft back in the test team after one year. Tim Paine will lead the team. Marcus Harris will open the inning with David warner in the Ashes.

“We have chosen 17 players as this gives us the cover and flexibility we believe we will need to ensure we are in good shape throughout a demanding schedule of five Test matches in just over six weeks,” Trevor Hohns, the chairman of selectors, said. “We believe the squad is an excellent blend of high-quality batsmen and top-class fast bowlers, plus Nathan Lyon, who we regard as the world’s best off-spinner in all conditions. It is a good mix of all the talents.

Also Read : West Indies announced their squad for first two T20Is versus India

“David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft have forced their way back into the Test squad through the excellence of their recent performances. David and Steve also have the advantage of being proven players at Test level while Cameron has produced impressive numbers for county side Durham this season and his innings in the intra-squad match in Southampton on a tough pitch was outstanding and showed his quality.

“Matthew Wade fully deserves his recall as he has made an irresistible case for inclusion through sheer weight of runs with 1021 first-class runs at home last summer followed by three hundred on Australia A tour, including an excellent 114 against the England Lions at Canterbury last week.”

Hers is the 17 member cricket Australia squad for ashes 2019:-

Tim Paine (capt), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular