Tuesday, August 3, 2021
HomeCricket NewsFaf du Plessis to represent Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2020

Faf du Plessis to represent Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 2020


Former South African Cricket captain Faf du Plessis will represent Peshawar Zalmi in the remaining matches of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020. It will be South African’s maiden appearance in the PSL. Faf has replaced West Indian legend Kieron Pollard, who will be on National duty, in Peshawar Zalmi squad.

“I am very excited to join Peshawar Zalmi for the playoff stage games of HBL PSL 2020. I have fond memories of playing in Pakistan when I toured with the ICC World XI in 2017 and I am sure this experience, although different due to Covid-19, will be a memorable one as well,” said Faf du Plessis confirming his participation in PSL.

The 5th season of the PSL will resume from November 14 at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium after Covid-19 postponed all the knockout matches in March earlier this year. Faf’s presence will be a great boost for Peshawar Zalmi, who already have the likes of Carlos Brathwaite and Darren Sammy.

Also Read – 3 reasons why CSK may struggle if the IPL mega auction doesn’t happen in 2021

A total of 21 foreign stars, including Faf, will turn up for four matches of PSL 2020. Apart from Faf du Plessis, Cameron Delport for Karachi Kings, Dane Vilas & David Wiese for Lahore Qalandars, Rilee Rossouw & Imran Tahir for Multan Sultans and Hardus Viljoen for Peshawar Zalmi are the other South African players who will mark their presence in the upcoming games.

Faf du Plessis had a great IPL 2020 representing Chennai Super Kings in the league. In the 13 matches, the South African made 449 runs at a strike rate of 140. 75 but couldn’t secure a playoff berth for his team Chennai Super Kings.

Peshawar Zalmi squad:

Aamir Ali, Adil Amin, Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Daren Sammy (West Indies), Faf du Plessis (South Africa), Haider Ali Khan, Hardus Viljoen (South Africa), Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Khurram Shehzad, Liam Livingstone (England), Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Wahab Riaz and Yasir Shah



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular