Friday, December 2, 2022

Five Indian Players to participate in World XI vs Asia XI series


Jayesh George, the joint secretary of BCCI, has confirmed that Indian players will definitely participate in the World XI vs Asia XI series in march next year.

Jayesh said that we have decided to send five Internationals to participate in the marquee event. FYI, BCB is celebrating 100th birthday of their father of nation and they have requested BCCI to send MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rohit Sharma to participate in the series.

With Jayesh confirming as many as five players, it will be interesting to see how India manages his line up for the match against South Africa on the same date the marquee event starts. The World XI vs Asia XI series will be of three matches of which two will be played in Bangladesh and the last match will be played in India.

Jayesh said, “Our board has decided to send five players. It has been left to the BCCI president (Sourav Ganguly) to decide which five players would go to Bangladesh,”
Earlier BCB president Nazmul Hossain has promised the nation to make available best players of International Cricket to mark the historic occasion.
Also Read – Sachin, Sehwag and Lara will feature in a new T20 tournament

“The dates of the matches have been finalized. The matches will take place between March 18 and March 21. We have not contacted anyone yet, but players from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan will take part alongside the Bangladesh cricketers in Asia XI,”

“There will be a matter of availability if they [the players] have international duties. I think only two teams will be busy at the time, but they won’t be playing T20s, so we might get their T20 players. We are looking for the best players among the current lot, and because the games will have international status, everyone will be serious about it,” Hossain had said.

“They made a special dispensation for Bangladesh, but they said it is only a one-off that such a match will get international status,”

First two matches of the series will be played at Mirpur in Bangladesh while the Third match of the series will be played in India, to mark another historic event as it will be the inaugural match for New Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad. The stadium will become the largest cricket stadium in the world with a sitting capacity of over 1,00,000.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular