Monday, December 5, 2022

The Second Edition of ICC World Test Championship will commence with India and England 5-Match Test Series


The five-match Pataudi Trophy among England and India beginning August 4 will start off the second pattern of the ICC World Test Championship. That series alongside the Ashes, in December, will be the solitary two series including five Tests in the subsequent WTC cycle, spreading over August 2021 to June 2023. 

Australia’s visit through India, in 2022, is the lone four-Test series in WTC 2. Past that, there are seven three-Test series and 13 series involving two Tests. The ICC has not yet chosen the timetable and the setting for the last. 

Also Read – BCCI prone to prepone IPL 2021 Finals to October 10 to give players generous rest before T20 World Cup 2021

Like the main ICC World Test Championship cycle, played somewhere in the range of 2019 and 2021, the subsequent release will see every one of the nine Test groups playing a sum of six series: three home and three away. 

These respective series were finished by the Full Member Boards in 2018 preceding the ICC securing them in the 2019-23 Future Tours Program. None of the series that were sliced shy of being delayed because of the Covid-19 pandemic in the main WTC cycle, will be conveyed forward into the subsequent cycle. 

The first-class series will indeed be parted among the Big 3 of India, England and Australia. The remainder of the six nations will secure a series including two or a limit of three Tests each. 

Joe Root led England Team will play the most Tests (21) in WTC 2 followed by India (19), Australia (18) and South Africa (15). The debut WTC victors New Zealand will play just 13 matches, like that of West Indies and Sri Lanka, however one not as many as Pakistan (14). Bangladesh are the lone country among the nine candidates to play two matches in every one of their six series in WTC- 2 edition.

12 for a win, 4 for draw, 6 for a tie– Second Edition Points System.

To guarantee the disparity in matches doesn’t hurt the groups’ WTC focuses count, the ICC has chosen to allocate each match a similar number of points. Under the proposed framework, which is set to be approved at the following CEOs’ board meeting, each match in WTC 2 will be worth 12 points. A draw will be 33% of that, four points. while a tie will acquire each group six points. Groups will likewise be punished for delayed over rates – one point docked for each over they fall behind. 

In a visit with ESPNcricinfo as of late, ICC’s  CEO Geoff Allardice had developed the adjustment of the points framework between the two patterns of the WTC.

“Instead of each series being worth the same number of points, 120, irrespective of whether the series is played over two Tests or five Tests, the next cycle will see each match being worth the same number of points – a maximum of 12 per match. Teams will be ranked on the percentage of available points they won from the matches they have played. The aim was to try and simplify the points system and to allow teams to be meaningfully compared on the table at any point, though they may have played differing numbers of matches and series.”Said by Geoff Allardice.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular