Monday, October 18, 2021
HomeCricket NewsIndian Team for the Sri Lanka series

Indian Team for the Sri Lanka series


Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, K Gowtham and Chetan Sakariya have all earned their maiden call for the Indian Team, figuring in the 20-man India squad for the white-ball arrangement in Sri Lanka, planned for July.

The second-string squad will be captained by opening player Shikhar Dhawan, who has never led India beforehand, and have quick bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar as the vice captain for the series. It will be interesting to see Dhawan in the leadership role against Lankan Squad.

India’s Sri Lanka visit includes six matches: three ODIs (on July 13, 16 and 18), trailed by three T20Is (July 21, 23, 25). Former India skipper Rahul Dravid has been affirmed as the main coach for the visit, the BCCI didn’t report the whole list of care staff on Thursday when it made public subtleties of the crew, which will have five hold bowlers.

Also Read – Star Team Players likely to be unavailable for the Phase-2 of IPL 2021 due to Scheduling of CPL

It is nothing unexpected that four of the five uncapped players – Gowtham the exemption – all established solid connections in the last two periods of the IPL. Padikkal and Gaikwad have been tremendous as openers at the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Chennai Super Kings separately, while Rana has been a standard in the top request at the Kolkata Knight Riders for a couple of seasons, and pacer Sakariya made an amazing beginning to his spell with the Rajasthan Royals till in IPL-2021.

The pair of Shreyas Iyer and T Natarajan were not considered for choice as they are both as yet recuperating from medical procedures. Iyer had harmed his shoulder during the ODI arrangement against England and had gone through a medical procedure in April, which had managed him out of the IPL.

Natarajan, who made a fantasy debut in Australia in every one of the three organisations at the turn of the year, needed to quit the IPL to go through knee medical procedure.

Indian Team

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, RuturajGaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Net Bowlers

Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, R Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular