Kane Williamson ruled out of first two ODIs against India

Kane Williamson ruled out of first two ODIs against India

Kane Williamson ruled out of first two ODIs against India(Pic Source: Twitter)

New Zealand suffered a huge blow as their regular captain Kane Williamson has been ruled out of first two One–day internationals of three match ODI series against India.

New Zealand are already low in confidence after a humiliating 5-0 whitewash in the T20I by India. Kane Williamson had missed the last two matches of the series with the shoulder injury that has ruled him out of the first two ODIs as well. New Zealand Cricket Board has named wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham as the captain for the first two ODIs and Mark Chapman has been named Kane’s replacement.

Kane Williamson had hurt his shoulder in the third T20I and as a caution the team management did not rush him to take field even though the x-rays revealed nothing serious.

Also Read – Aakash Chopra backs RCB to win IPL 2020

“Kane has had an X-ray scan which cleared him of anything serious, but it’s best for his recovery that he avoids aggravating the joint for the next few days. He will continue his fitness training sessions throughout the week and will start batting again on Friday with the prospect of being available for game three next Tuesday, Team physio Vijay Vallabh said.

Williamson’s replacement Mark Chapman is again given a chance with the national ODI team after almost two years. The youngster would be keen to make his mark in the international cricket. The 22-year old has been in very good form of late. He also scored centuries against India A in the third unofficial ODIs as well as in the first four-day game.

Welcoming the youngster, Gavin Larsen said, “It’s great to welcome Mark back into the one-day unit off the back of consecutive centuries for New Zealand A against a strong India A side. Mark is a versatile player who can cover multiple batting positions and his fielding is a real upshot to have in the squad.”

The three-match ODI series will start on February 5 in Hamilton with the Test series starting from February 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *