Friday, July 30, 2021
HomeLanka Premier LeagueLPL 2020 ensures broadcasting deals from UK, Pakistan and India

LPL 2020 ensures broadcasting deals from UK, Pakistan and India


Lanka Premier League (LPL 2020) management and organizers had signed diverse deals with the broadcaster channels in many different cricket playing countries. The LPL2020 will be telecasted live in India on Sony Sports. UK has signed the broadcasting deal of LPL on Sky Sports. Srilanka will broadcast the tournament on Independent Television network (ITN), whereas Pakistan will telecast the league on PTV and Geo TV.

Due to the current scenario affected by the Pandemic situation, COVID-19 has struck LPL2020 into many organizational consequences which consists pullout of members of coaching staffs and many big players, due to the telecasting propagation LPL can be continued with a steady phase.

“We share a long-standing relationship with the Srilanka Cricket Board (SLC) and as the right holders of SLC, this is a natural extension. The LPL is a good brand of cricket that is set to feature many sub-continent players making it a very attractive addition to our cricket portfolio,” quoted by Chief Revenue Officer, Distribution and Head- Sports Business, Mr. Rajesh Kaul to Sony Pictures Networks India.

LPL 2020 Broadcast in Sri lanka

Independent Television Network (ITN) which is country-owned network that constantly runs the game on free-to-air basis, that ultimately results in good production value of cost base and follower base for the league in Srilanka.

“Sport has reached like few others and an immense power to bring positive social change through the actions and words of its athletes. Cricket is the sport Srilanka can associate itself with, and the game that can bring in that kind of change in the Island Nation. It gives me immense senses of satisfaction to partner LPL and be part of this social change that will go a long way in helping the nation grow through cricket.” Quoted by Mr Sudath Rohana, the Chairman of ITN.

Also Read – Mumbai Indians might transfer 3 players in the mid-season trade for IPL 2021

Due to the addition of great players like Shahid Afridi, Lasith Malinga and Chris Gayle will definitely increase the entertainment globally.

“Sky Sports are delighted to be broadcasting the Lanka premier League this year as the appetite for T20 cricket grows across the globe. Srilankans have always played an exciting brand of limited overs cricket and we look forward to seeing more talent emerge from this tournament as well as following many other stars from around the world”. Said by Mr Bryan Henderson, Sky Sports, Director of Cricket.

Due to the addition of Galle Gladiators, A Pakistan base franchise in the league and star players of Pakistan will make huge impact for the tournament.

“It’s indeed a pleasure to be associated with Lankan Premier League as broadcast partners. I believe the show has to go on despite the challenges we face due to COVID-19 pandemic. I congratulate all the stakeholders and IPG Group for providing us the opportunity of becoming part of a fantastic event. We shall give our best to contribute in its success,” quoted by Dr. Nauman Niaz, head of PTV Sports.

“LPL’s broadcasting partner’s- Sky, Sony, Geo and PTV- global reach will help the League grow in stature and will help the league connect with millions of fans across the globe.” Stated by Mr Ravin Wickramaratne.

Teams Sqaud for LPL 2020

Colombo Kings

Laurie Evans, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Lahiru Udara, Angelo Mathews(c), Andre Russell, Ashan Priyanjan, Isuru Udana, Qais Ahmad, Manpreet Gony, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Dhammika Prasad, Karim Sadiq, Amila Aponso, Tharindu Kaushal, Thikshila de Silva, Kalana Perera, Navod Paranavithana, Himesh Ramanayake, Tharindu Ratnayake

Dambulla Hawks

Dasun Shanaka, Samit Patel, Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Kumara, Oshada Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Paul Stirling, Lahiru Madushanka, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Perera, Ramesh Mendis, Pulina Tharanga, Ashen Bandara, Dilshan Madushanka, Kavindu Nadesshan, Sachindu Colombage, Brendan Taylor, Lendl Simmons, Kamran Akmal, Sundeep Tyagi

Galle Gladiators

Shahid Afridi, Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Amir, Danushka Gunatilleka, Bhanuka Rajapaska, Akila Dananjaya, Milinda Siriwardena, Azam Khan, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Mohomed Shiraz, Dhanjaya Lakshan, Chanaka Ruwansiri, Sahan Arachchige, Duvindu Tillakaratne, Chadwick Walton, Ahsan Ali

Jaffna Stallions

Thisara Perera, Wanidu Hasaranga, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari, Avishka Fernando, Dananjaya De Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Binura Fernando, Minod Bhanuka, Chathuranga de Silva, Mahesh Theekshana, Charith Asalanka, Navindu Fernando, Kanagaratnam Kapilraj, Theivendiram Dinoshan, Yiyakanth Yiyaskanth, Kyle Abbott, Duanne Olivier, Tom Moores

Kandy Tuskers

Kusal Mendis, Brendan Taylor, Kusal Perera(w/c), Irfan Pathan, Asela Gunaratne, Ishan Jayaratne , Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Nuwan Pradeep, Dale Steyn, Seekkuge Prasanna, Munaf Patel, Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando, Priyamal Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Lahiru Samarakoon, Naveen-ul-Haq, Lasith Embuldeniya, Kevin Koththigoda, Nishan Madushka, Kaveeshka Anjula, Chamikara Edirisinghe



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular