Friday, December 2, 2022

New Zealand announced their squad for T20 World Cup 2021


Ross Taylor, the New Zealand most experienced batsman, has been excluded from the 15-part crew for the T20 World Cup 2021, set to be played in UAE from October 17. 

All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme is the other significant prohibition from the crew named by New Zealand Cricket on Monday (August 9), which will be driven by Kane Williamson. 

Taylor, a veteran of 102 T20Is, has not been included for New Zealand in the briefest organisation since November 2020 when New Zealand played West Indies at home. 

New Zealand have picked three spinners – Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi and Todd Astle. They have likewise incorporated four bleeding edge seamers – Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson and Kyle Jamieson – to go with the inside and out alternatives of Daryl Mitchell and James Neesham. 

Speedster Adam Milne has been opted as a replacement cover for any injury led issues and will head out with the crew to UAE. A similar 15-part crew will likewise play India in the three-match T20I going before the competition.

 “The need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now very real, and we’ve endeavoured to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this winter’s massive playing programme” stated by David White, NZC Chief.

“I’m satisfied we’ve selected strong squads for all our touring commitments this winter. As the Black Caps proved in England earlier this year, we have good depth in the New Zealand game and I’m confident all the squads chosen will acquit themselves well.”

“We’ve always tried to be realistic about the IPL and this particular issue is very much a one-off, caused by a unique set of circumstances.” Said by White when asked about the availability of players for IPL.

New Zealand squad for T20 World Cup 2021 and India T20Is:

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Also Read – Star RCB Player might miss the remainder phase of IPL-2021

New Zealand’s almost four-month Asian visit will start with the series against Bangladesh, for which they will leave on August 23. The crew for Bangladesh, where they will play five T20Is, will be driven by Tom Latham. None of the individuals named in the crew for the India visit and T20 WC will be a piece of the Bangladesh visit. 

The 16-part crew additionally incorporates an uncapped team of Canterbury all-rounder Cole McConchie, and Wellington pacer Ben Sears. 

A similar crew, aside from Sears, will likewise play in the three ODIs against Pakistan to follow. Another group of instructing staff, headed by Wellington mentor Glenn Pocknall, will lead the visits to Bangladesh and Pakistan close by. New Zealand’s bowling trainer Shane Jurgenson will later join as the lead trainer for the Pakistan T20I series.

“Ross Taylor was selected for the three ODIs in Pakistan but, with the brief nature of the one-week series and the length of quarantine protocols, it was mutually agreed he would remain at home to prepare for the Indian Test tour and upcoming home summer.” Quoted by NZC.

New Zealand Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs: 

Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

New Zealand Squad for Pakistan T20Is: 

Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular