Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Salman Khan to own a team in Lankan Premier League 2020; Chris Gayle makes the squad


Indian Premier League (IPL)s, which was started by BCCI after team India’s win in inaugural T20 World Cup, unprecedented success in 2008 was a revolutionary thing in Cricket. It not only opened the gates of global viewership but also brought enormous amount of investment in the game and teams.

In the last 12 years a number of Business tycoons, cinema celebrities, corporate groups have invested in and benefitted from franchise leagues. Ambani Group, Shahrukh Khan, Sun group, Preity Zinta are a few that have owned teams in different franchise leagues the world over.

Now with all major Cricketing Nations has started their own premier leagues, the game has seen more investment in last a few years. Recently, after the Sri Lankan Cricket Board announced the inaugural edition of the Lankan Premier League in 2020. There were speculations that some of India’s big houses might invest in the league.

As per the reports, Bollywood star Salman Khan has bought a team in Lankan Premier League. Salman Khan and his family has invested in Kandy Tuskers, through his brother Sohail Khan’s firm Sohail Khan International. They already own a cricket team in Celebrity Cricket League (CCL), a T10 league in UAE.

Kandy Tuskers is one of the five franchises (Colombo Kings, Dambulla Hawks, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions and Kandy Tuskers) in LPL and expectedly, the franchise owns one of the best squads after the completion of auction.

Also Read – Yuvraj Singh announces his playoff contenders alongside DC and MI in IPL 2020

Confirming the news, Sohail Khan said, “Given the players, we have in our team, the league in general, and the passion of the fans, which are second to none, we see a lot of potentials. Salman’s younger brother Arbaaz Khan also gave a heart-warming news by quoting, “Salman Khan will be present at all matches of Kandy Tuskers.’

The inaugural edition of the league features some high profile T20 players like Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Carlos Brathwaite, David Malan and Liam Pluknkett. Two Indian players in the form of Manvinder Bisla and Manpreet Gony will also participate in league.

The tournament is likely to get underway from 21st November and will culminate on 13th December. A total of 23 games will be played at two venues PallekeleInternational Cricket Stadium, Kandy and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota. will host all these games in LPL.

Kandy Tuskers’ team:

Kusal Perera, Chris Gayle, Liam Puknkett, Wahah Riaz,Kusal Mendis, NuwanPredeep, Seekkuge Prasanna, Asel Gunaratne, Naveen-ul-Haq, Kamindu Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Priyamal Perera, Kavisha Anjula, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Samarakoon, Nishan Madushka Fernando, Chamika Edirisinghe, Ishan Jayratne.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular