Thursday, October 6, 2022

Seven Indian players to play county cricket in England


BCCI have decided that 7 Indian players who are not part of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 squad but have been part of Indian team on regular basis should play county cricket in England. This decision was taken for preparations of test championship that starts after World Cup ends. BCCI has had discussions with the CEOs of all major counties so that top test Indian players which are available can play in county cricket.

The players that BCCI have selected for playing county cricket are Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Mayank Agarwal, R Ashwin and Ishant Sharma. Pujara already has a three-year contract with Yorkshire and is set to play there again. As far as Ajinkya Rahane is concerned, he is likely to sign a deal with Hampshire in the coming weeks. He is waiting for the approval of all three Committee of Administrators. CoA head Vinod Rai has already given his approval. But Diana Edulji and Lt General Ravi Thodage are yet to give their approvals.

English County Cricket will be played in Hampshire in the months of May, June and mid-July. County cricket is a domestic tournament of England. But many prominent Indians players like Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ishant Sharma have played county cricket recently. Now, as we reported that Ajinkya Rahane has also asked BCCI permission to play in county cricket. India skipper Virat Kohli was supposed to play for Surrey last year but could not do so due to injury.

What is Test Championship?

Test Championship is a championship that is organised by ICC to make test matches look glamorous and to increase the viewership of test matches. Test Championship will start after world cup 2019. First Test Championship will be played in 2019-2021. After that second test championship will be played in 2021-2023.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular