Monday, September 26, 2022

South Africa announced their squad for India series


Cricket South Africa has announced their squad for India series. South Africa will tour of India in the next month for three T20Is and three tests. The tour will begin from September 15. Faf Du Plessis will lead the team in the test while Quinton De Kock will lead the side in T20Is.

“All three newcomers to the Test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season’s Four-Day Franchise competition,” commented CSA Acting Director of Cricket, Corrie van Zyl.

“We feel we have covered all the options for the conditions we are likely to encounter on the sub-continent with Muthusamy and Dane Piedt, who was far and away from the leading wicket-taker in our Four-Day competition, providing the back-up to Keshav Maharaj. Zubayr Hamza made an impressive start to his Test career against Pakistan last season when Faf du Plessis was ruled out, and the retirement of Hashim Amla creates a further opportunity for him,” CSA Acting Director of Cricket, Corrie van Zyl added.

“The T20 Series gives us the last chance to have a look at our leadership and batting options as the next edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is now little more than a year away which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group. This is our last chance to do this before we settle on an established squad.”

“I would like to stress that Faf du Plessis remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket.

“As far as the T20 squad is concerned, Temba Bavuma and Bjorn Fortuin were two of the standout players in the CSA T20 Challenge last season while Nortje was outstanding in the Mzansi Super League until ruled out by injury.”

“This is very much a form squad with players being rewarded for their consistent performances at the franchise level. This applies equally to Junior Dale and Jon-Jon Smuts,” concluded Van Zyl.

South Africa squad for India Tests:

Faf du Plessis (c), Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, de Kock, Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second

South Africa squad for India T20Is

Quinton de Kock (c), van der Dussen, Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts

Here is the schedule of South Africa Tour of India:-

1st T20I: September 15

2nd T20I: September 18

3rd T20I: September 22

1st test: October 02 – October 06

2nd test: October 10 – October 14

3rd test: October 19 – October 23



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular