Thursday, December 1, 2022

Sri Lanka announced 22-member squad for Bangladesh series


Sri Lanka cricket has announced 22-member squad for Bangladesh series. Bangladesh will tour Sri Lanka during the last week of this month. Bith team will play three-match ODI series. Dimuth Karunaratne continues to lead Sri Lanka cricket team. All-rounder Milinda Siriwardana,  Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, and Jeffrey Vandersay is not included in the team.

Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka  Gunathilaka, and Dasun Shanaka make their comeback for this tour. They have played very well against India A recently. Niroshan Dickwella scored two centuries against India A. Experience player Lasith Malinga will lead the bowling attack and maybe this will be the last international series of Lasith Malinga.

Here is the Sri Lanka team for Bangladesh series

Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Wanidu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Thissara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lahiru Madushanka

Injury scares of Bangladesh team

Earlier Bangladesh cricket announced their squad for Sri Lanka tour. Mashrafe  Mortaza continues to lead the Bangladesh team. But now he has been ruled out form the series due to a hamstring injury. Bangladesh cricket team is doing well in his captaincy. Tamim Iqbal will lead the Bangladesh team during this series.

Also Read – Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka schedule

 “Mortaza (Mashrafe) injured his left hamstring during training today. He received immediate MSK ultrasound examination which has revealed a grade 1 injury,” Bangladesh Cricket Board senior physician Debashis Chowdhury said in a statement.

“It is a recurrent injury that could take around three to four weeks to recover from. Therefore, he is ruled out from participation in sporting activity for a month,” he added.

Colombo’s R Premadasa stadium will host the three-match ODI series, to be played between July 23 and 31.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular