Friday, August 19, 2022

Team India announces Playing XI for the first test vs South Africa


After the three-match T20I series, India and South Africa are going to play a three-match test series that will start from tomorrow. Team India has announced their Playing XI for the first test against South Africa Today and Virat Kohli has confirmed that India will go with two spinners and two fast bowlers in the first test while Wriddhiman Shah will play the first test as a wicket-keeper Instead of Rishabh pant.

“This is basically an opportunity for us to do something that we wanted to do for a long time and let that particular process happen over a period of time,” Virat Kohli said in a press conference ahead of the first Test against South Africa in Vishakhapatnam.

“We have given people opportunities in the past. Mayank (Agarwal) came into the system, KL (Rahul) had been there for a while, (Murali) Vijay was opening for a while, so there is definitely going to be room for people to come in because of their performances,” the Indian skipper said.

“We feel like because we have a test championship to look forward to and Rohit’s been in the test setup for a long time, it’s about providing him with the opportunity to really find his game and find that template that he really wants to in Test cricket,” Kohli told reporters

“We understand that if he does that, then our batting order at the top becomes even more lethal,” Kohli said.

“It’s difficult to have a player like Rohit not start for you every time. This is probably the most exciting opportunity for him and us as a team as well,” he added.

“People are always going to be knocking on the doors because of their performances, and it is a great thing that we have so many people who are performing so consistently and are hungry to play Test cricket,” Kohli said.

“I am sure in the future wherever the opportunity presents itself, they will get a chance as and when,” he said.

Here is the playing XI of Team India for test against South Africa:

Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular