Wednesday, May 25, 2022

Virat Kohli to captain ICC Test XI of year 2019


International Cricket Council has announced its Test XI of the year 2019. The year 2019 was a great year for Test Cricket as we witnessed some thrilling test cricket.

We also witnessed rise of Australia this home summer, dominance of India at home, Sri Lanka’s dwindling fortunes, England’s weakening armour as Stokes only the stand out performer for them in the year 2019.

ICC’s Test XI is comprised of 5 Australians, 3 players from New Zealand and 2 Indian Players along with Ben Stoked from England.

Team combination:

The right and left hand pair of Mayank Agarwal and Tom Latham will form the opening pair of the ICC test team. Mayank Agrawal had a great year after making his debut for India. The opener scored 754 runs in 11 innings with the highest score of 243 runs, an innings that came against South Africa. On the other hand, New Zealand’s Tom Latham made 701 runs in 8 Tests last year.

At number 3, in comes this year’s best Test cricket player from Australia, Marnus Labuschagne. He made 1104 runs in 17 innings.

Virat Kohli comes in at No. 4, he has also been given the reigns of the team. The Indian Captain scored 621 runs in 11 innings at an average of 68, with his highest Test score of 254* coming against South Africa.

At No.5 walks in Steven Smith, who made a stunning return to Test cricket after serving one-year ban. He has been phenomenal for Australia in this format of the game scoring 965 runs in 11 innings.

England’s Ben Stokes makes the XI as the best all-rounder to have an impact in Test Cricket. BJ Watling has been picked as the wicketkeeper of the team.

Also Read – Sourav Ganguly picked his fantasy IPL XI

In the bowling department, ICC has gone with three fast bowlers, undoubtedly world’s best fast bowlers for the year. Pat Cummins, Neil Wagner and Mitchell Starc make the fast bowling triplet of the XI.  While Cummins picked 59 wickets in Tests, Mitchell Starc has taken 42 wickets. New Zealand’s bowler Neil Wagnerclaimed 43 wickets.

The ICC Test XI of year 2019 stands as:

Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (C), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (WK), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Most Popular