Friday, December 2, 2022

West Indies announced their ODI squad for India series


Today, West Indies have announced their ODI squad for India series. The ODI series will begin from August 08. Chris Gayle retunes into the team who will be not past of T20I series against India. Jason Holder will lead the ODI side. Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine could not be included in the ODI side, but all are part of T20I team.

“Chris Gayle is a very valuable player, and he brings a lot of experience, a lot of knowledge, he lends a lot to any dressing room, and it is great to have him in the squad,” said interim West Indies head coach Floyd Reifer on west indies official website.

“We have a mixture of some experienced and young ODI players,” said Reifer. “It is good to have Keemo, John and Roston back, and they will help to bring further balance to the team. Looking ahead to the series, I think we have a lot to build upon following the World Cup. We have retained a large number of players from the World Cup squad, so there is a lot to build on and I am looking forward to the series.”

Also Read – West Indies announced their squad for first two T20Is versus India

“We have to start planning now for the World Cup in 2023, and we are looking for a solid squad that we can work with over the next four years. We want to build them into a consistent winning team in this format so that they have a real chance of success in 4-years’ time. We had a number of young players in the last World Cup squad. We played some decent cricket. We were in match-winning positions, but we just didn’t win the key moments or finish off the games. The players have learnt a lot from the World Cup, and we are looking to improve their skills, their mindsets and playing together as a team. The more they can play together, the better it will be for them,” Floyd Reifer added.

Here is the West Indies ODI squad for India series:-

John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Chris Gayle, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Shai Hope, Jason Holder(C), Kemar Roach



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular